You can use the “archive” option to disable a custom field that you no longer require. If the archived custom field has not been pushed to your live site, you can also “discard” that field to completely remove it from your account.

To “archive” a custom field, navigate to Settings > Configure Chargebee > Advanced > Custom Fields. Click on the field that needs to be archived and click on “Archive” button in the top right corner.



To discard the custom field, select the archived custom field from the archived section and click on the discard button on the top right corner. You can also “Unarchive” the custom field if you wish to reuse it.







Custom fields can also be hidden/displayed to your customers on the Checkout & Self-serve portal, invoices, and email notifications. So you can simply hide it and not archive the custom fields if that works for you.

Custom fields that are pushed to the Live site can only be deleted from the back end. Note that deleting a custom field will also delete the data associated with them. If you wish to delete the custom field, please reach out to support@chargebee.com with the custom field id that you want to delete and we’ll delete it from our end.



Related articles and documentation:

How to display custom fields to customers?

Custom Fields in Chargebee