This article covers:
- What is an abandoned cart?
- How abandoned carts are managed in Chargebee?
When a customer leaves items in a cart and does not complete the purchase, it is considered as an abandoned cart.
In Chargebee, if a customer leaves the checkout page unattended for 30 minutes, or when they close the web page and not return to it within 30 minutes, it is counted as an Abandoned Cart. Abandoned cart tracking allows you to measure how many visitors/customers leave the checkout without completing a purchase. To enable this feature, go to Settings > Checkout and Self-Serve Portal > Configuration > Checkout > Turn on the Track abandoned carts toggle.
Chargebee provides email notifications that can be used to notify the customer about the items they have left in the cart without completing the purchase. To enable this, head to Settings > Configure Chargebee > Email Notifications > Abandoned Cart Reminders.
We also provide the Abandoned Cart Report with the customer and checkout details. To view this, navigate to Reports > Revenue Recovery > Abandoned Carts.
This feature is available only on selected plans
The Abandoned Cart Tracking via API is available from the Rise Plan
The Abandoned Cart Reports are available only from the Scale Plan
Related articles and documentation: