Start a new topic

Application design for SaaS subscription model?

Hi,

I've built a SaaS solution which is currently free to use. I'm just starting to build out the ability for users to upgrade and pay for it on a monthly or annual basis.

I've decided to use ChargeBee with Stripe as the gateway.

However, I'm not sure exactly how to structure the application design/architecture. I'm a full-stack developer, but am aware that my knowledge of architecture is limited, and I don't want to corner myself by building a bad solution.

The signup process will be something like this:

1. [my application] user enters their email, password, and chooses which plan they want
  2. [hosted on ChargeBee] user is redirected to the hosted ChargeBee payment page and enters their billing details
  3. [my application] user is redirected back to my application with subscription/user data in the response

Now my main questions are:

• What data should I be storing and relying on in both applications (my own, and ChargeBee)? I.e. should I store the user's current subscription plan in my own application database once they're returned to my application? If so, why not just rely on ChargeBee?
  • How do I know what access level to give the user once they're in my domain - do I ping ChargeBee in my middleware to find out what plan the user is on, OR should that data ALSO be kept in my own application AS WELL AS in ChargeBee (like double accounting?)

I don't see a problem with pinging ChargeBee to return the subscription info all of the time, but then again is that the "right" thing to do? If so, should I cache the ChargeBee info for a user upon logging in?

This probably seems like an obvious answer to most; but I can't see a right or wrong answer without some advice or pointers...

Thanks,

Joe

Hi Joe

Thanks for reaching out to us and explaining your requirement in detail. 

I've answered your questions inline: